Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Whats the Best Housing for Gt3071r for a 1.8t

  1. #1

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member 4 Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    Who's running a GT3071r?

    I only got my GT2860 on and it's awesome, but my A4 has nearly 170,000 on her, and she's getting old. I want to rebuild the engine with new rods and pistons, and get some head work done. Nonetheless, if I'll exist getting all new internals, I want to put a beefier turbo on there. I take done some looking and seen some cool builds, simply I'm curious about numbers. Is 400whp possible with this turbo with all the proper supporting mods? Or should I be looking at a 3076, or something even bigger?

    2001 A4 i.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom melody, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, curt throw, ST coils, 235-forty-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  2. #2

    ray4624 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings ray4624's Avatar



    Who'south running a GT3071r?

    Wait into the gtx line if you tin afford it. They supposedly spool up real nice for bigger turbos.


  3. #3

    thenj3 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings thenj3's Avatar



    Practise y'all accept a max boosts you wanna run or only the smallest turbo pushed to the limit to striking 400wheel. Also you looking at a 1.eight or 2l build?


  4. #4

    ZimbutheMonkey is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings ZimbutheMonkey's Avatar



    I'd say the 3071 would be a skilful choice. Information technology'southward a good spooling turbo for a 1.8t. Simply I'd laissez passer on the GTX for the cost you lot can do improve. Personally I'd look at the Comp turbos, you could get them to make you a custom Triplex setup for the same cost equally a GTX that can be tailor made to your setup.

    I observe that the GTX series are alright if you desire to push really high heave, but they don't spool any better. In fact, the eleven blade design isn't every bit efficient at depression pressure ratios as a traditional split blueprint. The split blueprint that Comp (and others) uses is a amend all around compressor.


  5. #five

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    I'll expect at the GTX line. ATP offers a 3071 that volition bolt into the stock location. Should I go with a different housing? Not sure, This way I tin continue the stock downpipe flange and all. Not sure which fashion to get. I volition be staying at i.8, don't have all the funding to become to a 2l. I accept heard of some fitment issues with Comp, but I'll wait into those equally well. Is the 3071 going to become me anywhere close to 400whp? I know I'll demand a new fuel pump, fpr, probably at to the lowest degree 630cc injectors and a new clutch. I would rather have merely under 400 and keep a decent spool time, I don't wanna sacrifice useable power but for horsepower.

    2001 A4 i.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 dark-green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-forty-eighteen tires
    ^RIP^


  6. #6

    Dan[FN]6262 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings Dan[FN]6262's Avatar



    Quote Originally Posted by ray4624 View Post

    Look into the gtx line if you can beget information technology. They supposedly spool upwards existent nice for bigger turbos.

    Very imitation, if you want 400+awhp

    EFR | 7163
    268/260 cams

    I.E. Intake Manifold / 70mm
    Maestro [Dan Shank Super Tune�]

    BoostManager+
    Meth Caput


  7. #7

    spinnin_four is offline

    Senior Member Two Rings



    i know its apples to oranges, but my dominate' WRX, stock bottom stop w/ CP pistons and a knock off 3071 (periodical begetting) fabricated 410 awhp and 415 wtq on pump gas and nineteen lbs, but revving to 6500- break in tune, then i would bet a legit 3071 with a proficient melody should be shut on an Audi


  8. #viii

    morzechowski is offline

    Established Member Iii Rings morzechowski's Avatar



    I fabricated 450whp on a 3076 but revving to 6200rpm with my very abused stock head. I was going to shoot for 600whp with my built caput but I parted the car out before I got to melody with the congenital head. so yes I would say you can easily hit 400whp with a 3071.

    400whp is very easy if you lot stay away from the basic big turbo software out there that makes you run 630cc injectors or whatever.

    sales pitch: my already tuned to 450whp p&p 1.8t Haltech PS1000 ECU is for sale ;)


  9. #9

    ElliottG is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Three Rings ElliottG's Avatar



    Quote Originally Posted by morzechowski View Post

    I made 450whp on a 3076 only revving to 6200rpm with my very abused stock caput. I was going to shoot for 600whp with my congenital head only I parted the car out before I got to melody with the built head. and then yes I would say you can hands hit 400whp with a 3071.

    400whp is very like shooting fish in a barrel if you stay away from the basic big turbo software out there that makes you run 630cc injectors or whatever.

    sales pitch: my already tuned to 450whp p&p ane.8t Haltech PS1000 ECU is for sale ;)

    Actually 600whp from a 3071? Wow...I didn't recollect they could make that much power.


  10. #10

    andyrew is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings andyrew's Avatar



    400whp was my goal every bit well so i went with the CTB5356 im sure ill hit it with around 25psi and meth or 100 octane.. Ive been told that the turbo is efficient to similar 35psi... then information technology could take way more potential than 400wheel.. dont know...

    I personally would probably become with a smaller Gtx or CT to get some quicker spool if i knew what this turbo was really like.


  11. #11

    spinnin_four is offline

    Senior Member Two Rings



    Quote Originally Posted by ElliottG View Post

    Really 600whp from a 3071? Wow...I didn't think they could make that much power.

    morzechowski stated it was a 3076


  12. #12

    thenj3 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings thenj3's Avatar



    Quote Originally Posted by ElliottG View Post

    Really 600whp from a 3071? Wow...I didn't think they could make that much power.

    3076 and e85


  13. #thirteen

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member Iv Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    What is your budget? GT3071R is good for perhaps 325-350whp on an OTS tune and pump gas. With a custom tune, y'all should exist able to squeeze 350-400whp on pump gas. Merely this won't happen on an off the shelf melody. You lot will also want to look into getting into a T3 setup.

    I hate it when my car acts like a little bitch, treating me like a bowwow


  14. #fourteen

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    Aye I am looking into a T3 style housing and manifold. It will be custom tuned, without a uncertainty. Equally of now I'thousand not sure what my budget will exist to be honest. With a custom melody I was thinking 350-400, given that the 2871r is supposedly able to make 400chp, I figured the 3071r wouldn't accept a problem with effectually 450 or so chp

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom melody, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, brusque throw, ST coils, 235-40-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  15. #15

    ray4624 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings ray4624's Avatar



    Who'due south running a GT3071r?

    Quote Originally Posted by ZimbutheMonkey View Post

    I'd say the 3071 would be a expert choice. It'south a proficient spooling turbo for a 1.8t. Just I'd pass on the GTX for the cost you tin can do ameliorate. Personally I'd look at the Comp turbos, you could get them to make y'all a custom Triplex setup for the same cost as a GTX that tin be tailor fabricated to your setup.

    I find that the GTX series are alright if you lot desire to push actually high heave, simply they don't spool any better. In fact, the 11 blade design isn't as efficient at low pressure ratios equally a traditional separate pattern. The carve up design that Comp (and others) uses is a amend all around compressor.

    Ah didn't know they were useless for the high heave applications. Thanks for the correct info.


  16. #16

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    Y'all either misread what he wrote or you made a typo. The GTX is good for running big amounts of boost. If running mid 20s of pounds per square inch then it would be better to look into a different option. Price simply would not exist worth it.

    I hate it when my auto acts like a picayune bitch, treating me like a bowwow


  17. #17

    M-Hood is offline

    Registered User Four Rings



    Quote Originally Posted past spinnin_four View Post

    morzechowski stated information technology was a 3076

    GT3076r isn't going to period enough air to make 600awhp, hell virtually A4 owners running larger turbos oasis't been able to hitting that marking. lol
    I don't even retrieve a HTA3076r makes 600whp and it flows more then a GT3076r.


  18. #18

    ElliottG is offline

    Veteran Member 3 Rings ElliottG's Avatar



    Quote Originally Posted by spinnin_four View Post

    morzechowski stated it was a 3076

    Woops...copied it wrong. That's what I meant.


  19. #nineteen

    morzechowski is offline

    Established Member 3 Rings morzechowski's Avatar



    Quote Originally Posted past M-Hood View Post

    GT3076r isn't going to flow plenty air to make 600awhp, hell well-nigh A4 owners running larger turbos haven't been able to hit that mark. lol
    I don't even think a HTA3076r makes 600whp and it flows more so a GT3076r.

    if the motorcar held upward long plenty we would of known for sure! I had a new PTE6262 ceramic bb at my business firm ready to go in if the 3076 did not make a good enough number.


  20. #twenty

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member 4 Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    I want to run an internal wastegate, simply all the exhaust manifolds I see are for an external.

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 dark-green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, curt throw, ST coils, 235-40-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  21. #21

    thenj3 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings thenj3's Avatar



    Why would you wanna run internal? They aren't efficient for large turbos? And plus dump tubes sound awesome


  22. #22

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    That is considering simply near everyone volition employ an external WG on a T3 manifold. On the T25, they use internal generally. Why don't you want to run external. They are much more than easy to piece of work with and y'all go go them used for good prices. I personally run the Precision PW39.

    I hate it when my car acts like a little bitch, treating me similar a bitch


  23. #23

    thenj3 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings thenj3's Avatar



    Sick sell yous a psi concepts t3 setup with 38mm gate with downwardly pipe with wastegate recirc'd


  24. #24

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Iv Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    Mostly considering I don't 100% empathize how they piece of work or how to hook them upwards. What is the point of that tube? I demand a diagram.

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo dorsum, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, brusque throw, ST coils, 235-40-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  25. #25

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    You have 1 side (bottom) of the EWG that goes onto the manifold. Yous leave the top port vented, and the side nipple goes to one side of your heave controller or n75 (WG port). The other port on your heave controller goes to the boost pressure source. Identify in a spring that yous desire, and that's about it (with a boost controller, does not matter what spring you have. but when you want to run off of WG pressure information technology does).

    You have 2 ways of directing the backlog exhaust. Open dump tube, or reroute into the frazzle organization. I like things tranquillity, then I e'er opted for the reroute. If not going that road, but become a dump tube and route it to under the car.

    This was my old setup, and basically the same thing you lot would run if purchasing thenj3's setup. See how the WG is setup? And you take two ports on the EWG. Stated bove is how you lot would route that. This is a WG reroute vs a dump.

    I hate information technology when my car acts like a fiddling bitch, treating me like a bitch


  26. #26

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    And the wastegate itself opens up and you tin can modify out springs, similar to a DV?

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-40-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  27. #27

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Iv Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    I hate it when my machine acts like a little bitch, treating me like a bitch


  28. #28

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Iv Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    Also, where tin can I find a manifold that puts the turbo on top?

    2001 A4 one.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, brusk throw, ST coils, 235-40-eighteen tires
    ^RIP^


  29. #29

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    So when boosting the wastegate is closed, letting more exhaust gasses run through the turbo as opposed to around it?

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom melody, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-40-eighteen tires
    ^RIP^


  30. #xxx

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member 4 Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    Mine is from RAI Motorsports. Phone call them up and ask them how much. Other than that at that place is the Total Race, Augtronic, RAI tubular, SPA, and a couple others. Mine is actually a side mounted log manifold, but the flange is angled to have the turbo tiptop mounted. Custom built from Vibrant pieces.

    Quote Originally Posted by TConklin821 View Post

    And so when boosting the wastegate is closed, letting more than exhaust gasses run through the turbo equally opposed to effectually it?

    Equally your heave (intake) increases, then does your exhaust gas. When you reach whatever level heave you desire to run, the WG "opens" to allow another path for exhaust gas to travel instead of going through your turbine housing, creating more boost. This is what limits your boost versus you running like 30psi before yous let off the throttle.

    I detest it when my auto acts like a piffling bitch, treating me like a bitch


  31. #31

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    What means "log manifold"?

    edit: That makes sense. Then information technology stays airtight (or open up a little?) until the proper heave limit is reached at which point it opens

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom melody, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-40-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  32. #32

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Fellow member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    I edited my last post.

    There are actually just ii types of manifolds. A log manifold and a tubular manifold. A tubular manifold has a separate runner for each exhaust port out the cylinder caput to a collector, where the T3 flange sits. A log manifold will basically have all that runners open to a large void, then the flange attached to that. Here are 2 pics for example.

    Tubular manifold: http://www.full-race.com/store/turbo...-manifold.html
    Log manifold: http://www.atpturbo.com/mm5/merchant...Category_Code= (please note that this manifold is garbage. STAY Abroad!!!)

    Log manifolds grant quicker spool, while tubular ones grant more top end flow/power.

    I detest information technology when my car acts like a piffling bowwow, treating me similar a bitch


  33. #33

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    That ane from ATP turbo looks a lot like 1 that 034 offers. I want a tubular manifold only they're and then goddamn expensive.

    2001 A4 ane.8TQM. Custom catless turbo dorsum, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-forty-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  34. #34

    M-Hood is offline

    Registered User Four Rings



    Quote Originally Posted by morzechowski View Post

    if the car held upwardly long enough we would of known for sure! I had a new PTE6262 ceramic bb at my firm ready to get in if the 3076 did not make a good enough number.

    You lot would accept ended up swapping considering a 52 lbs turbo isn't going to make 650awhp without a 100 shot of nitrous or tuned on Nitro Methane. lol


  35. #35

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    The 1 034 sells is that exact same manifold...trash. They are a distributor for ATP Tuning. I personally similar my manifold a lot and don't program on changing it unless getting maybe a T4 EFR tubular. My current setup is configured for a number of applications.

    If you lot want to run my setup, phone call RAI and ask them how much. But know that I am as well running a 3" five-ring downpipe. Their setup is plug and play like the eliminator (really), except has a T3 flange and places the turbo top mounted on a side mounted log manifold (very cool design). What I did was transport in the three" five-band adapter I was going to utilize, and they used that to brand certain my setup bolted right up. It is all custom. I told them I wanted my downpipe to be three" with wastegate reroute and it would be used on a T31 turbine housing with 3" five-band adapter. But adapters vary, and so they required the one I was going to use. So, I shipped it to them and they went from at that place. And remember, I take the same AWM like you.

    I hate it when my car acts like a little bitch, treating me like a bitch


  36. #36

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    I will call. I don't run into it listed on their site. Then they custom made your manifold and downpipe? Did they use something similar this: http://www.atpturbo.com/mm5/merchant...de=ATP-FLS-021 ?

    Also, practise I meet 2 wastegates?

    I tin dig this

    http://www.034motorsport.com/engine-...fifty-p-17887.html

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo dorsum, GTRS turbo, 440 green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-twoscore-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  37. #37

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    No, one is my BOV and the other is my WG. And I'm cheap, so I picked up the OBX unit off of ebay. ATP has a really expensive one which I am sure is much much better.

    http://world wide web.atpturbo.com/mm5/merchant...Category_Code= (ATP unit)

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/two-5-inner-di...d7cbf7&vxp=mtr (God Speed unit that does the aforementioned thing)

    Tin can't discover the one I picked up from a quick 2 min search. Also, my setup is sold every bit the B7 kit. Information technology is all custom though, and they can go far for you for the B5.

    I hate information technology when my auto acts like a petty bitch, treating me like a bitch


  38. #38

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Fellow member 4 Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    Quote Originally Posted by Seerlah View Post

    Interesting. I'll exercise some poking around. I'll evidently have to become tuned for MAF-less and all

    Quote Originally Posted by thenj3 View Post

    Ill sell y'all a psi concepts t3 setup with 38mm gate with downwardly piping with wastegate recirc'd

    PM'd

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo back, GTRS turbo, 440 dark-green giants, FMIC, custom melody, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, curt throw, ST coils, 235-forty-18 tires
    ^RIP^


  39. #39

    TConklin821 is offline

    Veteran Member Four Rings TConklin821's Avatar



    I know information technology won't sound the same as an open up dump pipe, simply does an external WG with the recirc sound whatever different?

    2001 A4 1.8TQM. Custom catless turbo dorsum, GTRS turbo, 440 light-green giants, FMIC, custom tune, ECS RA4 clutch + LWFW, short throw, ST coils, 235-40-eighteen tires
    ^RIP^


  40. #forty

    Seerlah is offline

    Veteran Member Iv Rings Seerlah's Avatar



    Simple question: Do y'all like loud or placidity?

    I hate information technology when my motorcar acts like a picayune bitch, treating me similar a bitch


pharrpheine.blogspot.com

Source: https://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/518804-Who-s-running-a-GT3071r

Post a Comment for "Whats the Best Housing for Gt3071r for a 1.8t"